Welcome

Huzzah! I’ve started a blog. This year, in fact tomorrow night, I start a new education. I’m going to be learning the art of the patissier at William Angliss here in Melbourne. I’m a bit excited and a wee bit nervous considering I haven’t been to school for about, what, 17 years! Sheesh. I don’t think I’m the eldest in the class, but by no means the baby either. How did I get here?

I left my Catholic Girls school looking for anything left of centre and out there, I found myself at Prahran College of Tafe where I did an Advanced Certificate in Art & Design, I had a crush on the student union guy and his mohair jumpers and drank at the Windsor Hotel with Howard Arkley (how was I to know?.) From there I found myself at VCA studying Drawing with a minor in Printmaking. I lived in share houses, drank wine from a box and rolled my own ciggarettes. But memories of a Gen X’er this blog isn’t, but similarly to a lot of Gen X’er’s my “job to make money so I can make art” became my career (I use that term VERY loosely.) I took a job at Telstra (stop laughing now) to “pay the bills” and ended up working there for almost 10 years, queue a scene from “The Office”.

So fast-forward through a career as a Business Analyst, interjected by travel, a stint living in Edinburgh and you’ll find me share-housing with the guy I orgininally share-housed with, with a major difference, we are in love. We got pregnant first, then eloped, bought a house and 2 boys later this is where you’ll find me at my lap-top having afternoon tea with my kids.

So what about the baking part? It’s been there the whole time. I have been a mad baker my entire life and feel limited not by my imagination but by lack of technique, for now!.       

So yes there will be recipes.

Thanks for reading

D xx

About dblake73

I like to bake. I am a Business Analyst that spent time studying patisserie. I choose the Stones over the Beatles and I find shopping online relaxing. I am happily married with 2 boys. I live in and love Melbourne.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

