Double Chocolate & Pistachio Biscotti

So, last week was my first “practical” class, we learnt all about precision cuts. Julienne, Chiffonade etc etc. I got a minor cut on my thumb attempting to “turn” a potato, other than that the class was great and I think I did ok.

So here is my first recipe, it’s one I make each week and though simple the result is lovely. Great if you’re a coffee fiend that loves chocolate. Oh, allow yourself two days to get the best result, that is first bake day one and second bake day two. I find that allowing the biscotti to really dry out overnight gives the best result and is way easier to cut too.  

 

Double Chocolate & Pistachio Biscotti

 Ingredients

1 cup (220g) caster sugar

2 eggs

150g plain flour

1/3 cup (50g) self-raising flour

1/3 cup (50g) good quality cocoa powder (I use Van Hputen)

200g  dark chocolate chips/chunks (feel free to use cadbury dark chocolate buttony things)

150g pistachio’s

Method

Preheat oven to moderate.

Whisk sugar and eggs til thick and creamy. Stir in flours, cocoa, chocolate and pistachio’s; mix to sticky dough. Divide dough into two portions. Using floured hands roll each portion into a 20cm log, place on greased oven tray.

Bake in moderate oven about 35mins; cool on tray overnight. Using a very sharp knife, cut logs into 1cm or thickish/thinish as you wish slices. Place slices on oven trays. Bake in moderately slow oven  about 25mins or until dry and crisp, turning over halfway through baking; cool on trays.

Eat with an espresso. Yum!

About dblake73

I like to bake. I am a Business Analyst that spent time studying patisserie. I choose the Stones over the Beatles and I find shopping online relaxing. I am happily married with 2 boys. I live in and love Melbourne.
This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

