My kind of plums

So, this week I learned about tomato concasse, salads and dressings. I sustained my first injury, a very sore shoulder from whisking mayonnaise.  I’m really really enjoying these Saturday sesh’s in the kitchen at school. It was all a bit “Masterchef” at the end of class, we had to take up our two dishes to our chef for tasting and feedback. I did well, I think, except I awoke with a start Saturday night at about 3am thinking “I forgot to add a dash of water to stabilise the mayo”!!!! I wish I awoke with a startle with a new invention that would change the world, but no, just that I forgot to add a dash of water to my mayo.

Onwards. I made this yesterday, it’s from Stephanie Alexander’s “The Cook’s Companion”, it is delicious and really simple to make. You could easily substitute the plums for nectarines or peaches, I used plums cause they were on sale in a big bag and I’m a girl that likes a bargain. In fact I’m starting to purchase by the bargain first, meal idea second, whereas I would normally plan a list of the week’s meals in my head and then shop. What do you do? Before I had a family I used to shop by wine first then food second, on a nightly basis!

 

 

 

Ingredients

180g softened butter

150g castor sugar

135g plain flour

135g self-raising flour

pinch of salt

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

70ml milk

1/2 cup ground almonds or fresh breadcrumbs

10-12 ripe blood plums, halved and stoned

topping

60g sugar

1/2 cup castor sugar

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

2 large eggs

Method

Preheat oven to 180 and lightly grease a 26cm springform tin.

To make the topping, melt butter and stir in sugar and cinnamon, then allow to cool a little. Whisk eggs well and stir into cooled butter mixture.

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy, then mix in flours and salt. Mix eggs with milk, then add to flour mixture and mix to make a softish dough (it should drop easily from the spoon). Spoon batter into prepared tin, smooth the top and sprinkle with ground almonds. Arrange plums on top, cut-side up. Spoon topping over and around plums. Bake for 50 mins to an hour, until a fine skewer comes out clean. Serve warm with cream or vanilla ice-cream or nice cuppa.

About dblake73

I like to bake. I am a Business Analyst that spent time studying patisserie. I choose the Stones over the Beatles and I find shopping online relaxing. I am happily married with 2 boys. I live in and love Melbourne.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

