It’s Red & Delicious

Wow. I won! I’m pretty excited and thrilled about winning a KitchenAid mixer. A massive thanks to Ed Charles writer of blog Tomato, read it here and KitchenWare Direct.  Those folks at KitchenWare Direct have already got me sorted and it’s getting delivered this week! I was going to choose an almond cream coloured machine but went with red, classic and hot. Bam.

Anyway, expect some more interesting and tricky recipes forthcoming due to my new machine. In the meantime I’m still carrying on with the classic’s. So here we arrive at that classic winter pudding, Lemon Delicious. There has been much conjecture from lemon delicious connoisseurs about ingredients and methods and level of “lemony-ness”. I have been using the following recipe for many a year and love it because it’s really light and souffle like but full of that beautiful lemony sauce.

Lemon Delicious Pudding

Ingredients

3 lemons

60gm butter

1 1/2 cups castor sugar

3 eggs, separated

3 tablespoons self-raising flour

1 1/2 cups milk

Method

Preheat oven to 180C and butter a 1 lite ovenproof dish or your favourite pudding bowl (just make sure if it’s your favourite you can put it in the oven!). Zest 2 of the lemons and juice all three. In a food processor, cream butter with zest and sugar, then add the egg yolks. Add the flour and the milk alternately to make a smooth batter (it’s quite runny). Scrape down the sides of the processor and blend in the lemon juice. Transfer to a clean bowl. Whisk egg whites until creamy and firm and fold gently into batter. Pour batter into prepared pudding dish and put pudding dish into an oven tray. Pour hot water til it comes half way up the side of the pudding dish, basically you are creating a water bath. Place into oven and bake for about an hour.

Allow to cool a little before serving. I like mine as is, but feel free to put on a dollop of your best cream or ice-cream.

Oops, check out my dodgy plating! Still tasted awesome.

About dblake73

I like to bake. I am a Business Analyst that spent time studying patisserie. I choose the Stones over the Beatles and I find shopping online relaxing. I am happily married with 2 boys. I live in and love Melbourne.
This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

