Baked Explorations

I’m not sure how I came to buy this cookbook, but I did and I am finally getting around to cooking from it. The book is called “Baked Explorations” and it’s by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito, they are the co-owners of Baked in Brooklyn NYC, you can read more about them and their cafe/patisserie here. I’m finding myself as much interested by traditional French patisserie as I am by the seemingly very indulgent and sugar laden American way of baking.

I chose the Chocolate Mint Thumbprints cause they look sort of cute, I love biscuits and I also really like the chocolate mint combination. I also selected the New York Style Crumb Cake because this reminded me of a cake my Granny, an outstanding baker, used to make.

I found the Chocolate Mint Thumbprints reasonably easy to make, and thanks to Twitter for helping me convert to metric where the recipe said “1 stick of butter”. The dough itself is easy to make but a little tricky to work with, it can crack as you are forming the balls prior to baking. I made mine too big, but would most definitely make these again, on a smaller scale.

Hmmmm the New York Style Crumb Cake took eons to cook. I think I had my oven too low. It is a nice cake, but the crumb could have heaps more cinnamon in it than the recipe called for. I’m thinking I’ll dig out my Granny’s recipe and make her cake or maybe at least the ingredients for her topping.

There are lots of other equally inviting recipes and the methods are easy to follow. As long as you convert measurements to metric and check the oven temperatures prior to baking this book is a good one. It’s broken up into Breakfast (which the crumb cake is in, hello diabetes if that’s you breaky!) Tarts and Pies, Cookies and Bars, Cakes and Confections and Pastry.

I’m attracted to the more quirky dishes, like Monkey Bubble Bread and Nutella Scones (also in the breakfast section!).

I’ll give these recipes a few tries and adjust measurements and cooking temperatures and times before posting the recipes.

Do you have any new cookbooks?

 

About dblake73

I like to bake. I am a Business Analyst that spent time studying patisserie. I choose the Stones over the Beatles and I find shopping online relaxing. I am happily married with 2 boys. I live in and love Melbourne.
This entry was posted in Cookbooks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

