Bar Americano

Bar Americano

20 Presgrave Place, Melbourne CBD

Hours: 7am-4pm Monday and 7am-11pm Tuesday-Saturday

A bar in a lane way off a lane way is where you’ll find Bar Americano, the newest addition by the owners of Der Raum. Perhaps I’m being nostalgic, but the setting, sorry no photo’s allowed but when you discover this place for yourself you’ll get where I’m coming from, is very reminiscent of a little alley in Rome somewhere.

The place is teeny tiny inside and has beautiful dark wood panelling, similar to so many bars in Rome. With no room for tables there is a wooden ledge around the walls to place your cocktail or coffee, depending on when you choose to visit. There is also a small table and stools outside, but I imagine come Summer people will stand outside and drink there.

Coffee is by Seven Seeds and in the way of food there were some biscuits and pastries on the counter, I visited before lunch. There looked to be soup and pressed sandwiches also on offer. I believe there are bar snacks once the bar turns from cafe to cocktails of an evening.

What I like about this place is the setting, the end of this alley is the perfect place for a drink of a warm Summer evening. With it’s blue “Tabacchi” sign the only indicator that the bar is there it feels like an organic part of this little neighbourhood, if you could call it that. I’m already imaging going there with friends, standing outside and feeling cocooned by the city in this perfectly formed neat and small spot.  I definitely predict queues come Summer.

For a list of cocktails please see their website for details.

www.baramericano.com
Bar Americano on Urbanspoon

About dblake73

I like to bake. I am a Business Analyst that spent time studying patisserie. I choose the Stones over the Beatles and I find shopping online relaxing. I am happily married with 2 boys. I live in and love Melbourne.
This entry was posted in Dining out, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

