Luxbite

38 Toorak Road, Sth Yarra

Hrs: Wed-Mon 8am to 8pm

Owners: Bernard Chu & Yen Yee

www.luxbite.com.au

I have an almost enduring warmth for this place immediately, maybe it’s the words “Life is uncertain, eat dessert first” emblazoned on the front window, perhaps it’s that beautiful glass cabinet full of crafted desserts or maybe it’s just because it feels like a special place instantly.

Luxbite is owned by Bernard Chu and Yen Yee, Bernard is out the back in the kitchen and Yen in front. They are young, talented and this is their first business venture, to read more about Bernard and Yen go here.

Ok, I may write with some bias, I have been privileged enough to do a teeny bit of work experience at Luxbite and as a student am incredibly thankful to any business that agrees to let a stranger in to show them how it’s done, let alone be made to feel so welcome. Just as an aside, work experience at Luxbite or any other patisserie/restaurant is not an “open-door” policy, please be serious and committed when approaching a business and be prepared to do some, you know, work. Being a bystander and taking photo’s for your blog is not working or getting experience. Be honest and upfront about your intentions and it doesn’t hurt to be a current student i.e. Hospitality Certificate to prove legitimacy. That aside, lets talk about the sweets.

There is a selection of 16 different macarons and yes they are very popular and in a lot of ways how Luxbite is establishing it’s foothold in the Melbourne sweet market. Melbourne has embraced the macaron and that’s a fact. Bernard makes with them with what appears to be such ease and deft ability, he makes it look so easy. I haven’t tasted them all, yet, but am a big fan of salted caramel. I hear that Kaya is very popular and I also like the sound of Kaffir Lime and Peanut Butter and jelly amongst others.

Whilst I adore macarons it’s the big cabinet that holds the most interest for me as an aspiring pasty chef and as a lover of sweets. A few of the desserts that really caught my eye were “Supersized Love”, house made nutella wedged between chocolate macaron shells rolled in praline.“Oriental Love” a coconut macaron filled with pineapple curd, caramelised banana and peanut brittle.

And my absolute favourite and one of the best tasting desserts I’ve had in some time, “The E.T” dark chocolate mousse filled with salted caramel and topped with chocolate covered caramel popcorn.

There is coffee by Tobys Estate and a very good breakfast and lunch menu is also on offer, including interesting sounding dishes like the “Vegobite” poached egg, garlic roasted field mushrooms, baby spinach, poppy seed roasted pumpkin roasted vine tomatoes and goat cheese served on La Madre toast. You can see the full breakfast and lunch menu here.

So I’ll definitely be going back and what I look forward to the most is knowing that this place will have enduring signature favourites (The E.T is locked in for me) but will always be creating something new and exciting for our taste buds.

*photo’s courtesy of the Luxbite website, excluding dodgy pic taken from my iphone.

LuxBite on Urbanspoon

About dblake73

I like to bake. I am a Business Analyst that spent time studying patisserie. I choose the Stones over the Beatles and I find shopping online relaxing. I am happily married with 2 boys. I live in and love Melbourne.
This entry was posted in Dining out. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Luxbite

  1. Katrina Higham says:

    This post has just given me another reason why I have to go and visit….yum! The ET looks like it has my name all over it!

Leave a Reply

