L’atelier de Monsieur Truffe

L’atelier by Monsieur Truffe

351 Lygon St, East Brunswick

Hours: Wednesday to Friday 8am to 4pm/ Saturday and Sunday 8:30am to 4pm

monsieurtruffe.wordpress.com/

I’m new to Monsieur Truffe but I’m not new to chocolate. Being a patisserie student it’s pretty obvious I’m in to all things sweet, and no I’m not one of those people that makes great sweets but hates eating them. I have a highly evolved sweet tooth. So it’s kinda crazy I haven’t eaten anything Monsieur Truffe before. Well, that is truly rectified.
I first read about L’atelier on Ed Charles blog Tomato and was very excited by the prospect of our own little chocolate factory in Melbourne, and on my side of the river! I had to go.

Firstly can I say I love LOVE the way it looks from the outside, very much like nothing that will contain something.

A warehouse that has been smartly converted to one side cafe and the other side chocolate factory! The interior is as light and as spacious as you would expect, and having only opened a matter of weeks ago it reeks of being brand spanking new.

The entrance very much reminds me of Seven Seeds with it’s bike racks and water bowl for pooches, there is also a nice screening of bamboo before you enter the warehouse proper.

The idea is that you will be able to sit enjoy coffee/tea and some light cafe food whilst watching the chocolate being made. I’m both fascinated and excited and was a little disappointed that none of the machines were in action the day I visited, but can’t wait to go back when they are.

There is a selection of bars, truffles and drinking chocolate for purchase, I took home a 70% cocoa Valrhona chocolate and hazelnut bar and can attest to the fact that this is some of the finest chocolate I’ve tasted. I really can’t wait to see those cocoa beans being roasted and ground on site.

Coffee is by Atomica and there is a wide selection of teas available. In fact I think drinking a pot of tea might be the way to go.

I sense this place has a little way to go to settle into itself in terms of menu, coffee and getting the machines producing chocolate. I was keen to find out more but the place is busy already, so I’ll have to pick my moment and report back at another time.

Until then, I’ll just enjoy the chocolate.

About dblake73

I like to bake. I am a Business Analyst that spent time studying patisserie. I choose the Stones over the Beatles and I find shopping online relaxing. I am happily married with 2 boys. I live in and love Melbourne.
This entry was posted in Dining out. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

