Biscuits – Choc Mint Thumbprints

Biscuits are my favourite thing to bake ever. If you have any killer biscuits recipes, send them my way. I have some citrus buttery ones to try courtesy of the Palace’s own Kara Barclay (The Palace Hotel just off Notting Hill Gate as opposed to the Royal Palace). If you are into the whole chocolate and mint combination, these are for you.

I’ve made these a few times and this last time I think I’ve perfected the recipe. I’ve adapted it from the superb baking book “Baked Explorations” which I reviewed on this blog. I highly recommend American baking books, they have a unique take on treats that is quite different from the British baking I grew up with (and still love don’t get me wrong.)

CHOCOLATE MINT THUMBPRINTS

INGREDIENTS

30gm chocolate (I use 70% cocoa dark chocolate)

30gm mint chocolate (I used lindt mint intense)

1 1/2 cups plain flour

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa

3/4 teaspoon of salt

250gm buttered, soft

2 tablespoons brown sugar

2 large egg yolks

1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I use vanilla bean paste)

1 cup of sugar for rolling

WHITE CHOCOLATE & MINT GANACHE FILLING

90gm white chocolate

3 tablespoons cream

peppermint essence, to taste

METHOD

In a medium bowl combine flour, cocoa and salt, whisk thoroughly and set aside.

In microwave or oven just simmering water melt chocolate, set aside.

In stand mixer with paddle attachment mix butter for about 2 mins, scraping down sides. Add sugars and cream until light and fluffy, about 3mins, scraping sides occasionally.

Add the egg yolks and vanilla and beat again until combined. Scrape the chocolate into the mixture and mix until just combined. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl and add the four mixture all at once. Beat on low speed, scraping the sides occasionally, until the dough is smooth (it may not come together in a ball but still needs to be sufficiently mixed.)

Transfer dough to clingfilm and shape into a disk, chill until firm, about 30mins.

Preheat oven to 160C, line two baking trays with greaseproof paper.

Pour the sugar into a bowl or onto a tray.

With clean hands, form tablespoon size dough balls, taking care that they have no lumps or cracks. Roll into the sugar and place it on the baking tray. Use either your thumb or the end of your wooden spoon to make an indentation into the centre of the biscuit. Bake for about 10mins, remove from oven and using either your thumb or end of a wooden spoon make the indentation more visible. Return to the oven and bake for a further 4-5mins.

Cool on the tray for 5mins and the gently, using a spatula, place onto wire racks to cool completely.

WHITE CHOCOLATE FILLING

Place the cream in a microwave safe jug (I use my pyrex jug for this) and heat on high, about 30secs, until it boils. Put the white chocolate into the hot cream and stir gently until smooth. Add peppermint essence to taste, go easy. Fill the thumbprint biscuits with the white chocolate ganache and refrigerate them until set, about 30mins.

They taste awesome at room temperature or chilled straight from the fridge. They can be stored in an air-tight container in the fridge for up to 3 days.

Seriously you won;t be able to stop at just one.

Enjoy.

About dblake73

I like to bake. I am a Business Analyst that spent time studying patisserie. I choose the Stones over the Beatles and I find shopping online relaxing. I am happily married with 2 boys. I live in and love Melbourne.
This entry was posted in Cookbooks, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

