Baked Chocolate Tart

And the stockings were hung by the chimney with care”…. and so I get ready for what is definitely my favourite food time of the year, if only because I can drink champagne at breakfast. I am going to cover all my traditional fare over a number of posts, and whilst they may not give inspiration for this year, this baked chocolate tart recipe is something you could still slip onto the menu for Christmas Day.

This is my Christmas tradition, every Christmas Day I serve this chocolate tart, it’s my husbands favourite and I’m happy to make it for him. This year I’m serving it with home-made vanilla bean ice-cream. Another post required on my recent adventures with making ice-cream at home, successfully I might add!

I have included my favourite short crust pastry recipe, but if you have a particular favourite that you always use, go for it. I would say that an un-sweetened pastry works better just because the filling for this tart is so rich.

This is easy and spectacular and be warned the top of the tart cracks when it’s near to its cooking time, don’t be alarmed this is what is meant to happen. Please wait at least 45mins or so before serving, so you could always make it the day before.

Apologies, I only have very dodgy pictures of the tart so I’ll retrospectively adjust this post.

Baked Chocolate Tart

Short Crust Pastry

180gm good quality butter (see my post about quality baking ingredients)

240gm plain flour (I like Lighthouse or Lion brands)

pinch salt

1/4 cup water

Method

Sift dry ingredients onto clean/dry work surface. Add cubed butter and rub into the flour, not in the manner where you would make a crumble, but enough so that the flour particles are coated. Make a well in the centre and pour in cold water, using a pastry scraper smear the mixture across the bench incorporating everything without over-mixing. When it comes together pat into a disk and wrap in clingfilm and let rest in the fridge for about 1 hour. There will still be buttery parts in amongst the pastry, that is good.

Roll out pastry to about 2cm, using lots of flour to ensure it doesn’t stick to the bench. Use your rolling pin to roll the pastry and drap over a tart tin (I use the larger size.) Gently press the pastry into the tart case, ensuring it is even and not thick in corners. Trim the edges but allow for shrinkage during baking, so leave a 1/2 centimetre or so above the tart case rim. Place back in the freezer or fridge for another 30-40mins before blind baking.

To Blind Bake  place a piece of greaseproof paper over the tart and weigh it down with either rice or pastry weights, place in a preheated oven at about 200 degrees for 15mins and then uncover and bake for a further 5mins.

Baked Chocolate Tart Filling Ingredients

140gm butter

150gm 70%cocoa chocolate (I use Lindt)

8 tablspoons dutch processed cocoa

pinch of salt

4 eggs

200gm caster sugar

3 tablespoons golden syrup

3 tablespoons sour cream or creme fraiche

Method

Place butter, chocolate, cocoa and salt in a bowl over just simmering water. Allow to melt and stir gently occasionally. Beat eggs and sugar until light and creamed add golden syrup and either the creme fraiche or sour cream. Stir in the chocolate mixture and mix well to combine. Pour into prepared tart case and bake in pre-heated oven at 150degrees for 40-45mins (as mentioned the top cracks, that is normal.) Allow to cool for at 45mins prior to serving.

Hope you have a lovely Christmas, with lots of yummy food and drink. Actually, looks like the Christmas Tree is already a bit squiffy, check out the star all askew at the top!

About dblake73

I like to bake. I am a Business Analyst that spent time studying patisserie. I choose the Stones over the Beatles and I find shopping online relaxing. I am happily married with 2 boys. I live in and love Melbourne.
This entry was posted in Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

