Huxtable

Huxtable, where to start. I am not sure what it is about this place that appeals to me so much, in fact I’d go as far as to say if I could I’d eat at Huxtable at least once a week (and there are people I’m certain that do), I would. It’s a compact space, with a reasonably relaxed vibe. Tables are quite closely spaced together and I like the retro 70’s vibe with comfy brown leather swivel chairs.

Huxtable serves Breakfast (weekends only), Lunch and Dinner and the menu is designed to share. Broken up into Bites then slightly larger plates, Sea, Land and Earth, it is the perfect place to have a glass of wine and share some snacks, in fact there is nothing on the menu I wouldn’t be happy eating, that is a pretty rare thing.

We started this evening with my absolute favourite, rice flour crusted oyster po’boy with  iceberg lettuce and sriracha mayo. Whilst I have seen this roll bandied around as one of a cluster of rolls named “dude food”, forget your culinary catch phrase’s this just tastes good and I’m no dude. Soft white roll containing two perfectly deep fried oysters in a light crust on a bed of shredded iceberg and that chilli mayo.

Next we had the jalapeno and cheddar croquette, crunchy outer shell reveals an interior of molten cheese with the jalapeno kick.

Moving  from the Deep South to something a little Greek inspired, crisp filo log of lamb puttanesca with lemon yoghurt.  A crunchy outer layer of filo reveals slow cooked lamb with a wonderful rich depth of flavour perfectly off-set by the tangy yoghurt sauce.

We also shared kingfish sashimi with horseradish, apple & dill and the shaved fennel, pomegranate, goats cheese, blood orange & herb salad (not pictured.) The kingfish was beautifully fresh and I particularly liked the presentation with the precision cut batons of apple criss-crossed across the top of the fish.

For dessert I had the crème fraîche cheesecake with dehydrated & fresh strawberries, citrus crumbs and mango sorbet, a kind of deconstructed take on the traditional cheesecake, I loved the presentation and the flavour was light and tangy. I think a more buttery type crumble would have been just as pleasing as the citrus.

My dining companion had the ice cream and fudge sandwich, which during our visit was a raspberry ice-cream with white chocolate fudge. It was sweet but not overly so and the sandwich itself was ultra thin, crunchy and buttery.

Service was efficient and not overly fussy or intrusive. The space is not large, so bookings are advised, though there is seating on the sidewalk out the front which would be perfect on a Summer evening.

Huxtable firmly sits in my stable of favourite go to places and as I said there is not a thing on that menu I wouldn’t be happy to eat.

Huxtable

131 Smith Street
Fitzroy

(03) 9419 5101

Huxtable on Urbanspoon

About dblake73

I like to bake. I am a Business Analyst that spent time studying patisserie. I choose the Stones over the Beatles and I find shopping online relaxing. I am happily married with 2 boys. I live in and love Melbourne.
This entry was posted in Dining out. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

