The wedding cake and other edibles

I have been in a bit of blog hiatus of late, I went back to work full-time a few months ago and this has meant less time for blogging. Although I haven’t been writing about things I have been eating them, this post is a bit of a catch-you-up on what I’ve been devouring.

Other than my planned entries to the Royal Show this year, my biggest achievement for 2012 was my niece’s wedding cake. If I got married now, that is, if I were getting married to my husband now, I would serve the wedding cake with champagne at the commencement of festivities and not make my guests wait. Wedding cake’s are a mammoth effort to make, this I know now for fact. I would like to say a HUGE public thankyou to Yen and Bern from Luxbite for creating the cake’s crowning macaron tower glory. So incredible. Bern is so talented and doing the tower in this way added so much texture to the overall cake, but I know it required so much skill, which he clearly has.

Here’s a bit of timeline of how it came together. Starting with baking the cake itself, through to Luxbite producing the crowning glory.

Two extra large chocolate cakes.

First a filling of salted caramel.

Then a layer of whipped chocolate ganache.

A custom made Luxbite macaron tower, that’s edible glitter people.

Small macarons along the bottom of the cake.

And thanks to Clare Metcalf photography for this beautiful picture of the final product. I felt proud and hope the bride and groom enjoyed it.

Phew. That done I recently enjoyed a great evening hosted by Fringe Food Festival at St Ali, a Texan BBQ. This was my first Fringe Food Fest event and I really enjoyed myself,  the vodka peach tea was a slow burner. I was expecting a bit of background chat about the food and why the Texan’s serve what they do at their BBQ, but enjoyed the food regardless. My favourites were the cheese stuffed chilli peppers wrapped in bacon and the deep fried pickle chips.

Among the many cookbooks I received from my gorgeous husband for Christmas was David Lebovitz’s “The Perfect Scoop” and have been henceforth churning ice-cream. Chocolate is a favourite.

With ice-cream making comes an abundance of left-over egg whites. I’d scoured about for good recipes to use up those egg whites and the lovely Essjayeff reminded me of her cherry and burnt vanilla butter torte, I implore you to make this recipe it is divine. Thanks SJ.

Easter has come and gone and we devoured many of these splendid buns from Lets-a-loaf, just as good as the homemade, sort of. In any case, they are my new favourite store bought kind.

In other Patisserie related news, I had to make the rather sad decision to defer my studies. Going back to work has been a big change and I was finding it a bit hard being at work all week, then in the kitchen at school all day Saturday, only leaving Sunday to spend with my family. Anyway, here is some of the incredible bread I baked, bread baking was by far my favourite subject.

I also filled and decorated all these gorgeous eclairs.

And finally, I made this chocolate cake on the weekend. This is basically what the inside of the wedding cake was like. Chocolate caked, filled with salted caramel and here I’ve covered the cake in chocolate and caramel buttercream.

I’m heading to Hobart for my second visit to Mona this weekend, expect a Hobart based food frenzy post soon.

About dblake73

I like to bake. I am a Business Analyst that spent time studying patisserie. I choose the Stones over the Beatles and I find shopping online relaxing. I am happily married with 2 boys. I live in and love Melbourne.
This entry was posted in Dining out, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The wedding cake and other edibles

  1. Pingback: The wedding cake and other edibles | donisbaked | wedding cake | wedding planner|wedding gowns|wedding cake

  2. Melinda says:

    Oh my goodness. Glitter, macaroons AND cake all rolled into one? Amazing!
    A beautiful post lovely! Xx

Leave a Reply

